“The Fixer” by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Quick Statistics

  • “The Fixer”  by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
  • Young Adult Mystery
  • Read as an ebook.
  • 4/5 stars
  • Finished June 10, 2017

Official Synopsis

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess’s classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist.

My Thoughts/Summary

I’m going to be honest. I love most books that are political in nature. I’m into politics, I love The West Wing and Scandal and I’m working on House of Cards (for some reason its a slowly but surely thing for me). This book was promoted as a Veronica Mars/Scandal type of YA book and I knew I had to read it.

I did really enjoy this book, and I tore through it fairly quickly. It really kept me reading, because I wanted to know what happened next. The twists didn’t feel over played and were revealed perfectly. I wish however, we learned more about the President and other political figures. I also am a huge sucker for lots of world building, but I know that for books of this type, that doesn’t always work out perfectly.

The only disappointment I have is that this series isn’t longer. Apparently, it’s only two books long, and I would love to have seen a really long series between these characters. So much interesting stuff to explore. This read was fun, and light-hearted (it dealt with some heavy subjects but not in a heavy way) and I would highly recommend to fans of Scandal!

Follow-Up Links

(this post does contain affiliate links that help me keep the site going. please consider purchasing using these links if you’re interested in this book! thanks so much xo r)

Follow Rachel Reading: GoodReads | Instagram | Facebook | BlogLovin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s